The Twentieth Century Society


Initially set up entirely by volunteers, the Society now has one full time and three part-time staff based at our London offices, as well as other people working on a freelance or voluntary basis. Below are listed some of the people who help with the running of the society:


Catherine Croft, C20 Director, by Sarah J DuncanCatherine Croft - Director

Catherine has been Director of the C20 Society for over ten years, and is Editor of the C20 magazine. She works for C20 Society Monday-Thursday.

Catherine read Architecture at Cambridge University, and did an MA in Material Culture & Architectural History in the USA, where she held a fellowship at the Winterthur Museum in Delaware. She has lectured to post graduate building conservation students throughout the UK, and is an alumni of the Architectural Association course. Prior to C20 Society she worked for English Heritage as a buildings inspector in London and the Midlands. Author of a book on Concrete Architecture, Catherine writes on contemporary as well as historic buildings, lectures internationally and  teaches a course on concrete for conservation professionals at West Dean College.

Clare Price - Senior Conservation Adviser

Clare Price is the C20 Society’s Senior Conservation Adviser and works Monday-Wednesday. She is a Chartered Surveyor, and was formerly a casework volunteer for the C20 Society. She is studying for a PhD in Architectural History at Oxford University, researching Inter-war churches.

Clare deals with all church casework and cases in: Bedfordshire, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Durham, Essex, Hertfordshire, Northumberland, Oxfordshire, Suffolk, Tyne and Wear, Scotland and the London boroughs of Barnet, Brent, Ealing, Hammersmith & Fulham, Harrow,  Hillingdon, Kensington & Chelsea & Westminster

Tess Pinto - Conservation Adviser

Tess is Conservation Adviser for the C20 Society and works full-time. She has an MA in architectural history from the Bartlett UCL and has been a long-term casework volunteer for the Society.

Tess deals with cases in: Cheshire, Cornwall, Cumbria, Derbyshire, Devon,  Dorset, Gloucestershire, Greater Manchester, Hampshire, Kent, Lancashire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Merseyside, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire,  Shropshire, Somerset, Staffordshire, Surrey, Sussex (East & West), Warwickshire, West Midlands, Wiltshire,  Worcestershire, Yorkshire (North, West & South), Wales, and London boroughs except those managed by Clare Price (listed above).

Nancy Roberts - Head of Operations

Nancy Roberts joined the Society in 2017. She has a degree, a Masters and a PhD in English Literature and has previously worked in both trade and academic publishing. She is currently studying part time for an MBA at Cranfield School of Management.

Nancy is responsible for the administration of the Society, deals with general queries and membership issues, and is normally in the office Monday-Wednesday


Events Coordinator

Leigh Stanford

Flickr Coordinator

Russ Griffin

Vounteer Coordinator

Cela Selley

Office Volunteers

Jasmine Churcher, Rosemary Clarke, Charles Collet, Keri Darn, Ellen Gates, Stella Jundul, Beryl Newton, Richard Tamplin, David Thomas

Website & Social Media Volunteers

Charlotte Goodhart (Facebook)

Tom Ravenscroft (Tumblr)

Susannah Straughan (web assistant)

Website & magazine

Deputy Editor, C20 Magazine

David Attwood



Web Developer

James Sui

Media and development manager

Susannah Charlton website(at)

Honorary Officers and Trustees of the Society


Gillian Darley


Peter Ruback

Vice Chair & Chair of Publications sub-committee

Timothy Brittain-Catlin

Honorary Secretary

Julia Lane

Honorary Treasurer

Carolyn Parmeter

Honorary Events Secretary

Simon van Heyningen

Honorary Membership Secretary

Jane Rosier

Honorary Casework Convenor

Ian McInnes

Honorary Regional Groups Convenor

Barry Arden


Barnabas Calder

John Clarke

Ellen Gates

Sarah Jackson

Alan Powers

Matthew Schofield