

The Trustees The Twentieth Century Society 70 Cowcross Street London EC1M 6EJ

## Nomination for Trustee and Director of The Twentieth Century Society Annual General Meeting: 6 July 2024

I confirm that I am a current member of The Twentieth Century Society and that I am willing to stand for election as a Director and Trustee of the Society at the 2024 AGM

I understand that the following information is required by the Companies Registry and the Charity Commission:

Title	Мх
Forenames	Phineas Grant
Surname	Harper
Previous forenames, surname	
Occupation/employment status	Architecture Critic
Nationality	British

The Twentieth Century Society is a company limited by guarantee, registered in England, number: 05330664. Registered office: 70 Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6EJ. Registered Charity number: 1110244.

Other directorships, and charity trusteeships	

## **BIOGRAPHICAL SUMMARY OF NOMINEE**

(About a hundred words outlining career, and what I will bring to the Society)

I am an experienced and innovative leader working at the intersection of climate, culture, community and architecture. Until recently chief executive of NGO Open City and currently an opinion writer on sustainable urbanism at The Guardian, my career spans leading organisations and cultural programmes, publishing, curation, education, youth and community engagement, sculpture and running design competitions. As a non-binary person, my work is marked by a long standing commitment to making architecture and urbanism more open and accessible to younger and more diverse communities.

## Experience

Opinion Writer, THE GUARDIAN (2021-2024) Exhibitor, INTERNATIONAL ARCHITECTURE BIENNALE ROTTERDAM (2024) Chief Executive, OPEN CITY (2020-2024) Founder, NEW ARCHITECTURE WRITERS (2017-2024) Columnist, DEZEEN (2016-2024) Deputy Director, THE ARCHITECTURE FOUNDATION (2015-2020) Chief Curator, OSLO ARCHITECTURE TRIENNALE (2017-2019) Curator, ARCHITECTURE PRIZE OF THE PROVINCE OF STYRIA (2019) Deputy Editor, THE ARCHITECTURAL REVIEW (2011-2015) Trustee, WOODCRAFT FOLK (2008-2014)